EMERGENCY MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, MARCH 16, 2020 MONTGOMERY COUNTY COMMISSIONER

The Montgomery County Commissioners met in an emergency session on Monday, March 16, 2020 at 4:00 pm at the South Boulevard Conference Room, 110 West South Boulevard, Crawfordsville, Indiana.

Present:

Vice President Commissioner John Frey; Commissioner Dan Guard.

Present Via Conference Call – Commissioner James Fulwider. Commissioner Fulwider participated by phone, but did not vote.

Also present:

Board Attorney Dan Taylor & Tyler Nichols; County Administrator Mark Casteel; Auditor Jennifer Andel; Health Administrator Amber Reed; EMA Director Shari Harrington; Crawfordsville Mayor Todd Barton; Nick Hedrick – Crawfordsville Journal Review. Meeting by invitation only.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Board Vice President Frey called the emergency meeting to order @ 4:00 pm.

II. RESOLUTION 2020-8 – A Resolution Declaring a Public Health Emergency and Exercising Emergency Powers

Attorney Dan Taylor explained the purpose of Resolution 2020-8 to declare the following:

- 1. The Commissioners hereby declare a local disaster emergency pursuant to Indiana Code 10-14-3-29;
- 2. The response and recovery aspects of all applicable local or interjurisdictional disaster emergency plans is authorized;
- 3. The procedures and formalities otherwise required by law pertaining to the performance of work, the entering into of contracts, the incurring of obligations, the employment of permanent and temporary workers, the use of volunteer workers, the rental of equipment, the purchase and distribution of supplies, materials and facilities and the appropriation and expenditure of public funds are hereby waived;
- 4. For purposes of claims, the President of the Board may approve claims and submit the claims to the Auditor for payment;
- 5. The President of the Board of Commissioners and the President of the County Council may, in accordance with the emergency management program and emergency operations plan of the County, enter into a contract or lease with the State of Indiana, accept any loan or employ necessary personnel, and the County may equip, maintain, use and operate any property and employ necessary personnel in accordance with the purposes for which the contract is executed and do all things and perform acts that the Governor of Indiana considers necessary to effectuate the purpose of the contract; and
- 6. The Commissioners may make, amend, rescind orders, rules and regulations necessary for emergency management purposes and to supplement the carrying out emergency management law that are not

inconsistent with orders, rules or regulations adopted by the governor or by a state agency exercising a power delegated to it by the governor, the emergency management program and emergency operations plan of the County, and any such orders, rules and regulations have the full force and effect of law when filed in the office of the Clerk of Montgomery County;

- 7. Local health officers are authorized to issue orders to forbid public gatherines when considered necessary to prevent or minimize the spreading of the COV-19;
- 8. All Montgomery County government public meetings are cancelled until further notice, subject to the right of the Commissioners to allow public meetings which are necessary to the operation and function of the County government; and
- 9. This Resolution shall automatically expire seven (7) days from the date adopted, but its effectiveness may be extended by act of the Commissioners.

Commissioner Guard moved to approve Resolution 2020-8 as presented. Seconded by Commissioner Frey. Health Administrator Amber Reed stated there are no positive cases reported in Montgomery County. Motion passed 2-0.

III. ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business before the Board, Commissioner Guard moved to adjourn. Commissioner Frey seconded. Motion passed 2-0.

Meeting adjourned at 4:10 pm.

Minutes prepared by Commissioners Executive Assistant Lori Dossett. The next emergency meeting will be held on Monday, March 23, 2020 @ 4:00 pm @ EOC Building, 1201 E Elmore Street, Crawfordsville, IN 47933.

	MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS:
	John E. Frey, Board Vice President
Attest:	
Jennifer Andel, Auditor	